Picture
 

   This still life acrylic painting is of a wooden manikin standing in the center of my painting with fake leaves; blueberry’s and flowers in the lower right hand corner.  This painting looks very photorealist to me.

   The highlights and shadows on the manikin give him a real wooden feel with the way the light reflects off the wood and also the angling of the light.   Because the assortment of fruit and leaves were fake, they had a real shine on them and I feel that I portrayed all of the little shiny spots that were on the apple and other blueberries.  Also the leaves in the painting have several shades of green brown and a hint of yellow.  Also the blueberries are various shades of blue which reflect the various angling of the light.  

   I choose such a dark blue background for this painting because I really wanted my wooden manikin and floral bouquet to stand out; which to me I accomplished just that.

   My initial reaction to this painting is WHOA! The manikin is the first thing that stands out because it is so bright and light. And then my eye is drawn to the apple and flowers because they are the only subjects in the whole painging with some real colors besides beige and green. 





Leave a Reply.