I am using acrylic as well as watercolor paint to demonstrate unity and rhythm through my paintings.  The main motif throughout my paintings is, a twist upon the ordinary appearance of nature into the unordinarily extraordinary!  My art demonstrates a guttural feeling which communicates to the world my views of the world through an abstract image. The paintings I will be demonstrating to you today are, Watercolor Courtyard, Mystical Lake, Sunset Desert, Purple Boat at Sunset, Bird Wings and Wheat Field.  Each of these paintings came as an  inspiration from nature.    

     My art work is created through the use of watercolors and acrylic paint.  I use Vincent Van Gogh and Georgia O’Keefe as inspirations for my art work. I an inspired through Van Gogh’s brilliant use of color, line and shape; and O’Keefe’s paintings for the ordinary taken to a recognizable and yet still somewhat abstract work of art.  My paintings are of everyday scenes/moments of nature with an abstract spin to them. This is through an unordinary use of bold colors and free form odd shapes. When using acrylic paint I tend to vaguely blend the paints together.  I have found that through using this technique the lines and colors that are produced give my works of art some depth as well as an illusion of light highlights and dark shadows on each individual object.  Where as when I paint in watercolors, my paintsare usually more dry to give more of a definite solid line rather than solid blended lines.  This is demonstrated effectively through Watercolor Courtyard. Through this specific painting, the technique is quite evident.  Notice how the tree, rocks and the door are the only three solidly painted objects throughout the whole painting. There are no white spots visible.  I did this so that these objects could be separated from the choppy colored background mossey walls and the foreground leaves covering the ground. 
    
     I create a sense of movement and depth through my paintings with the use of bold and daring lines.  Whenever I paint in acrylic, the paints are never fully mixed and  there are also various shades of the same color on the paintbrush, to give the false appearance of depth, shadow and highlights.  Like Van Gogh, I also will very minutely outline some parts of the objects in my paintings to help give some objects form  while still being seen as “revolving”. I feel that this technique creates more interest throughout all of my pieces. This can be demonstrated in Wheat Field.  I also feel that the use of bold and quite apparent unblended lines helps to further drive one aspect of my theme for my paintings.  Bold lines, equal bold ideas.

     The main goal of my art work is to avoid realism. To demonstrate how everything is made up of bold and vivid colors whether this is realized or not by the viewers.  I try to take scenes from nature and break them down into their most simple forms and colors. Even though everyday life is  quite complex through appearance, in my view, it really is just a bunch of singular simple layers that together create one mass complex collage of color form and line.  I try to capture through my work nature’s most simplicity.     


1/25/2012 07:44:26 am

good post

Reply
1/27/2012 09:13:59 am

Thank you for info

Reply

Thanks for info

Reply
3/23/2012 08:05:20 am

Thank you for info

Reply
7/12/2012 09:16:55 am

will come back quickly

Reply



Leave a Reply.